Busy…Not good

Have that feeling that you’ve got too much going on? You’ve bitten off more than you can chew? You’re not carving out down time to slow down and bask in the season? I’m right there with you. I do this every year. I don’t get started soon enough. I have too much to do. I crave a slow day when I can just chill with my kids…read books, cuddle, bake cookies (leisurely). Why do I do this to myself?

I’m slowly learning that busy is not good.  Are we addicted to busy?  I do like to be busy.  I know that about myself.  But, many days I wonder what I can cut out.  Really, what do I let go of?  Homeschooling?  Cleaning the bathrooms?  Co-ownership in home-based business?  I don’t know!  My family must come first.  That one is not always easy because I’m pretty cozy with my to-do list.  I guess it’s knowing when to say no.  Setting a quitting time.  Being ok with never nearly perfect.

So, back to Christmas.  Ok, we’re right in the thick of it now, so maybe there is not much you can just not do a this point.  Well…maybe there is.  Do you really have to bake all those cookies?  We’re better off without all those carbs.  Will they think you love them less if you don’t make them the Pinterest-inspired gifts?  Probably not.   And, if your house isn’t all the way decorated yet?  Put away the bulbs and boxes and call it a day.  What our families will remember the most is our care for them.  What our families will remember most is our care for them.  (Yes, I know I wrote that twice.  I’m trying to make it stick in my head!)

There are many cliches about Christmas.  And while they may cheapen with repeating, there is nothing cliche about the fact that Jesus really and truly is the reason for this season.  Let it sink in.  He put us first.  It was His care for us that compelled Him to be born as a helpless baby who was laid in a feeding trough, available to anyone who cared to visit.  Not in a palace with guards and waiting lists.  In a barn.  Luke says, ” There were sheepherders camping in the neighborhood. They had set night watches over their sheep. Suddenly, God’s angel stood among them and God’s glory blazed around them. They were terrified. The angel said, “Don’t be afraid. I’m here to announce a great and joyful event that is meant for everybody, worldwide: A Savior has just been born in David’s town, a Savior who is Messiah and Master. This is what you’re to look for: a baby wrapped in a blanket and lying in a manger.” (MSG)

Let’s not try to win ‘mom of the season’ awards for she who completes the most Pinterest crafts, recipes and decorating tips.  Also, don’t beat yourself up for the lack of ‘spiritual’ activities during this season.  Love on your kids and hubby.  Talk about the Christmas story.  Those young ‘uns may just amaze you with their insight.  Go on!  Celebrate this great and joyful event!

 

