Goodness and Mercy Pursue Me

I just wanted to share what encouraged my heart today, in hopes it will do the same for you.  I read Ann Voskamp’s blog for today: when you’re finding it hard to keep up.  The main idea is based on Psalm 23:6 Surely goodness and mercy shall pursue all the days of my life. 

IMG_20160403_185007015 She explains that the word pursue in Hebrew is radaph and “it means  to pursue, to run after, to chase…to hunt you down”.

That is what God says goodness and mercy do in the life of a believer.
So, when we’re striving to keep up with all that is our lives, she encourages:  “We don’t live in pursuit of a better life–it’s the blessed life that’s in pursuit of us.”    
IMG_20160403_183725945
That is good news to me.  Especially where my spiritual life is concerned.  Leaning on Him is ingrained in my day to day life.  Without thinking I lift a prayer to Him.  My thought life has been trained to take thoughts captive.  That is usually my go-to.  But lately, I’ve been struggling.  It’s hard to explain.  Like it has lost its flair.  That feels so wrong to say that.  But let’s be honest here.  The christian life is less than glamorous.  I can strive (and sometimes stop striving) for what I think a mature christian life should look like.  It’s a good reminder to know that He is always pursuing me.  We get tired, discouraged, lose interest, mess up, etc., but His goodness and mercy tirelessly and perfectly pursues us.
IMG_20160403_182058691
So, when we’ve “lost that lovin’ feelin'”, let’s keep leaning.  As a follower of Jesus, the Holy Spirit in us will still stand for the truth and love that we know He is.   And that can be the catalyst, if only very weak, that will push us to lean in to Him.
Leave a Reply

