Simple & Scrumptious Waffles

I love the idea of someday being a Grandma.  Maybe I’ll even make these yummy waffles for my future grand-babies.

 IMG_20160730_092840958_HDR

This recipe comes from my maternal grandma, MaryAnn’s, cookbook.  I’ve tweaked it just a bit, but not so much as to alter their original yumminess.   Grandma MaryAnn went Home to Jesus when I was just a young teen.  I miss her still.  We would have been buddies, I’m sure.  It brings me joy to continue to carry on her legacy of loving others through food.

IMG_20160730_093034265

It gets better.  I get to bake these breakfast delights on my paternal grandma, MaryLou’s, hand-me-down waffle iron.  What a blessing it is to still get to visit and chat with this grandma.  I love her.  We laugh together and I listen while she reminisces.  We have the same sense of humor. She’d probably laugh that I’m highlighting this bad boy…

     IMG_20160730_092918373

He’s well-seasoned and knows how to get the job done.  I do have a newer, round model, but no one compares to this guy.

So, the waffles…

IMG_20160730_092822110

Yum, right?  Look at that fluffiness!  They’re soft on the inside with a little crisp on the outside. Slather on the butter and top with real maple syrup and…   You had me at butter.  But I digress.

I made these this morning for my daughter and her two friends who slept over last night.  The waffles were a hit.  I am a bit proud that I managed to make something that got such rave reviews from these little gals.  Let’s just say they’re not always easy to please.  But, who can turn down this plate of loveliness?

IMG_20160730_092744345_HDR

Ok.  Let’s not drag this out too long.  You want to make these now.

Grandma MaryAnn’s waffle recipe

1. Turn on waffle iron.

2. Combine in medium mixing bowl:

2 C. flour

2 tsp. Baking powder

1 tsp. Baking soda

½ tsp. Salt

3. In a 4 cup measuring cup, whisk together:

2 C. milk

1 Tbsp. Vinegar

2 eggs

4. Pour milk and egg mixture into bowl. Whisk lightly to combine.

5. Use measuring cup to melt your fat. 😉  I use coconut oil or butter.

6. Pour melted fat into bowl; whisking as you pour.

7. Bake it! My waffle iron takes just under a cup of batter per batch.

IMG_20160730_092733957_HDR

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

